Ripping the models from SF: Assault

Thomas Draco

Well, it's been awhile since I've posted here last... like years, but that's another story.

I've been trying to rip models and textures and such from Starfox Assault because I wanted to use the 3D models as better references for drawings. Plus, having actual full 3D models of craft besides the Arwing, like the Cornerian and Venomanian cruisers, fighters, and battleships seen in the first level. If it's been done already, although Google search finds no records of people trying to rip models from Assault, please stop me. I have enough hobbies to deal with.

Basically, the only thing I have ripped is the Cornerian cruiser, as seen in that picture, and I only have the model at this point.

Also, I should add that the tools I am using are 3D Ripper DX, Blender, and the Dolphin emulator.

Another thing: I really have no idea what I am doing. Besides ripping the models and actually getting them into Blender, I have no experience in the 3D modelling world, which means applying textures to the models will be a slow process. I managed to "apply" the texture for the Cornerian cruiser once, but it looked like a blurry mess on the model for whatever reason.

So, here's what I would like to ask this forum: Would you be willing to help? At this point, what I really need is someone who knows how to apply textures to models properly, and from the last time I was here I know there was a few people who could do that.

Also, anybody with completed save data that is compatible with Dolphin for Assault would be great too.

To finish, basically my current goal is to rip all non-Aparoid vehicle models from Assault. The Cornerian fighters, cruisers, Arwings, Great Fox, Andrew's Army's ships, fighters, the cool looking mecha, etc. If it's shown we can effectively rip the models and texture them, then we could move on to other enemies.

If you need anything from me, feel free to ask.

Thank you.

• Like 3