Basic recording studio hardware/software?

sroberson

Alright so I'm a complete beginner in recording hardware/software for say, a rock band. I don't know what hardware to look for, software, or really even how best to use it. The only thing I have touched is a pretty crappy computer microphone and Audacity and that obviously isn't very good quality stuff there. Anyone out there have some suggestions for an introduction low to middle budget recording rig and a pretty good "idiots guide" to recording basics?

Much appreciated! :D

Software side I can recommend one free tool: Audacity. Incredibly powerful software, and entirely open source. Hardware side, I don't really know. I use a Roland UA-4FX USB soundcard plus a small Behringer mixer for my DJ gigs.

I would recommend either Audacity or Goldwave. Just to also inform Goldwave is free as well. While Audacity can record and edit audio, Goldwave can do the same as well as convert audio files such as iTunes into MP3. Though I'm not really sure if Audacity can do that too since I'm not that well into audio software.

Are you recording the entire band at once? Because if you are, you'll need a whole mess of likely prohibitively expensive gear to get anything above utter crap.

If you're not, then hardware-wise I might recommend This Shure SM58 microphone and X2u USB Signal Adapter bundle package here. The bundle allows you to record from a standard (pro XLR type) mic directly into a computer's USB port. The whole package will set you back around $200, but that's a damn good deal to get at least a semi-professional sound with just the computer. You will however need to buy stands and mic accessories separately though. This only works with one mic at a time.